• Diane Gomez

Class of 2021 recognized at Senior Honors Night

Slideshow Below: Valedictorian, Salutatorian, and Honor Graduates for Class of 2021

On Tuesday, April 27, 2021, beginning at 6:30 p.m., parents, students, and faculty of CHS gathered together with business and community leaders to recognize the achievements of the graduating Class of 2021.

During the ceremony, Principal Chris Lokey announced that 148 seniors of the 2021 class are HOPE eligible. "Combined with the scholarships presented this evening, the class of 2021 will be receiving over $1.7 million in scholarship monies," he said.

Many scholarships and awards were awarded over the course of the evening, including Honor Graduates, CTAE Pathway completers, and the President's Award for Educational Excellence, more commonly known as Senior Honor Roll.

Special recognition was given to Valedictorian Camille Dukes and Salutatorian Michelle Morales. STAR Student and STAR Teacher for 2021, Amaya McCullough and Mrs. Brooke Reynolds were also recognized.

For more information on graduation procedures and requirements for 2021, check out the Red & Black's story here. You can also learn more about the STAR Award and this year's recipients from our the Red & Black's earlier coverage here.

The full list of Honor Graduates for the Class of 2021

There were a total of 71 Honor Graduates, 172 CTAE Pathway completers, and many more who qualified for Honor Roll. Over 40 Senior Scholarships were also awarded during the course of the evening, including the following:

  • Celia Bass Science Award - Amaya McCullough

  • Cairo Woman's Club - Graci Bishop and Morgan Gainous

  • Grady General Ladies Auxillary - Hanna Powe

  • Joe A. David, III Music Scholarship - Bryce Perry

  • Cairo Kiwanis Club - Hailey Jones and Amanda Renaud

  • Jackie Robinson Boys & Girls Club of Cairo-Grady County Scholarship - Leah Perry

In addition, there were a total of 25 Senior Achievement Awards, including the following:

  • English - Jasmine Cruz

  • Social Studies - Esperanza Jimenez

  • Math - Michelle Morales

  • Science - Camille Dukes

  • Spanish - Kaitlyn Donaldson

  • Art - Kade Godwin

  • Band - Bryce Perry

There were a total of 15 Special Awards, including the following:

  • John B. Wight Award - Camille Dukes

  • John Herndon Award - Brandon McClendon

  • Kay Avery Award - Ambria Vicks

  • Jake Elkins Football Scholarship - Raylen Brown

  • Philip Almon Scholarship - Lily Norton

  • Tom K. LeGette, Sr. Memorial Scholarship - Jack Strickland

"On behalf of the Class of 2021, I would like to thank the representatives from our community, and the organizations who awarded scholarships," Principal Chris Lokey told those in attendance. "Without your support, none of this would be possible."

#CHS #seniorhonorsnight #classof2021