• Jacqueline Walker

Third novel in 'First Empire' series released

Michael J. Sullivan is an American writer of epic fantasy and science fiction who this year published “Age of War,” the third novel in the "The Legends of the First Empire" series. "The Legends of the First Empire" is a fantasy series set in the distant past of the Riyria novels.

According to Goodreads, “No prior knowledge of the Riyria books is required to enjoy this series to the fullest, but those who read both will find the truth in various myths and legends and see for themselves how The First Empire was formed.”

The first two books are called, “Age of Myth" and "Age of Swords.” The first three books of the series have been published by Penguin Random House's Del Rey imprint from 2016-2018. The third book of the series was published July 3, 2018 and spans 462 pages.

In the Age of War "the epic battle between humankind and their godlike rulers finally ignites in the masterful follow up to 'Age of Myth' and 'Age of Swords,'" according to the publisher's website.

According to Goodreads, “The alliance of humans and renegade Fhrey is fragile and is about to be tested as never before. In the darkest hour, when hope is all but lost, new heroes will rise. . . but at what terrible cost?”