• David Smith

Georgia defeats Auburn 28-7 in SEC Championship

On Dec. 2, 2017, the Georgia Bulldogs clashed with the Auburn Tigers for the second time this season. This time, the Bulldogs came away with a victory, becoming the South Eastern Conference (SEC) champions for the first time since 2005. The Georgia Bulldogs dominated the Tigers with a 28-7 win.

Auburn scored the first touchdown of the game in the first quarter; it was also their only touchdown in the contest. The quarterback for Auburn Tigers, Jarret Stidman, threw an 11-yard pass to Nate Craig-Myers for the touchdown.

Georgia, on the other hand, didn’t score until the second quarter of the game, when Jake Fromm threw a 10-yard pass to Isaac Nauta, a tight end for the Bulldogs. The Dawgs nearly scored another touchdown in the second quarter but were called for a penalty; their kicker, Rodrigo Blankenship, successfully made a 3-point field goal attempt instead.

One of the major plays for the Bulldogs came in the fourth quarter, when D’Andre Swift, running back for Georgia, ran for a 64-yard touchdown. According to USA Today, this “spectacular" run sealed the SEC title game win and a likely spot for his team in the playoffs.