• Kassidy O.

Supermodel Blasts Baseball Writers Over Cy Young Result

Each year, the Cy Young Award is chosen by members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America and awarded to one pitcher in the American League and one in the National League for their exceptional performances during the previous season.

Earlier this week, supermodel Kate Upton tweeted a series of angry, vulgar messages directed at baseball writers after her fiancé, Justin Verlander, lost the Cy Young Award to Boston Red Sox ace, Rick Porcello. Verlander and Porcello, as well as Max Scherzer, who won the award for the National League, all played together previously in Detroit.

Porcello's victory left Verlander in second place and sent his fiance into a tweeting rage:

He had the majority of 1st place votes and 2 writers didn’t have him on their ballots?!! can you pick more out of touch people to vote?@MLB — Kate Upton (@KateUpton) November 16, 2016

Sorry Rick but you didn’t get any 1st place votes? you didn’t win. #ByeFelicia @MLB keep up with the times and fire those writers— Kate Upton (@KateUpton) November 16, 2016

Verlander had a much more responsible, professional response to his loss. “Just want to say thank you to all the @officialBBWAA who voted for me.”

Her fiance, on the other hand, took a more mature approach and reached out to congratulate his former teammate: "I'm very happy that Rick was able to win,'' Scherzer said. "Where he's come from and what he's been able to achieve, being in the National League and seeing him over in the AL, rattling off win after win. It was pretty cool to watch him, to follow his career.''

Sources: Bleacher Report, Washington Post, and MLB.com